Wax XXX Brazilian Wax Review!

Heard about Brazilian Wax? Bikini Wax? Waxing? You must have.

This is an emerging trend in Singapore, with the Europeans probably starting it some decades ago.

Back when I was working in the Spa Industry, we have had our expat clients coming in regularly to have their waxing done.

I used to shave, or rather, tried to shave. Boy, it was bad. And wrong. And I truly regret it now. Here is a FAQ answered by Wax XXX, the waxing authority of my life right now!

Why not just shave?

Shaving basically crops off the hair on the skin surface. The re-growth is as face as 12 hours or 8 for some men. The re-growth hair is stubbly and it is definitely most embarrassing when you accidentally “poke” somebody sitting or lying down next to you. Shaving also gives you razor burns and in more serious cases, discoloration of the skin in the shaved areas.

No joke.

What is waxing then?

It is a hair removal method that completely removes the hair from the roots. The benefits include: new hair growth is much softer (not prickly), with regular waxing, hair growth will slow down and you may find that lesser and lesser hair grows back…!

I was invited to try out their Brazilian Wax at Beauty Affairs salon and this entry shares the entire experience. I hope this provides a good read for first-timers and people who are looking for an alternative waxing experience.

Beauty Affairs
27 Purvis Street #01-02 Singapore 188604 Tel: 63379455

Opening Hours: Mon-Fri 10am—9.30pm

Saturday 9am—6pm Sundays & Public Holidays—Closed

Beauty Affairs is located at Purvis Street, beside the Killiney Kopitiam. Easy to locate!

A cozy set up with about 4 rooms for beauty services located in the heart of Bugis/town. Was attended to by Ms Hazel Menon, the founder of Beauty Affairs who is a waxing therapist herself!

We sat down and I had to complete a Consultation Form. This step is crucial as it shows the integrity of the salon in providing the best service and advice prior to starting the treatment. Be truthful when filling it in and always ask questions BEFORE you enter the room to prepare yourself for the treatment.

Specifically, these are some points to take note of:

What should I avoid before and after a waxing treatment?
• If you are using accutane, or any other anti-acne drugs,

Please consult with your doctor before a wax, these medications can sometimes thin the skin which can cause skin to be removed with the wax.

• If you are using RetinA, you should not wax the area being treated.

• Do not swim, suntan or work out right before or after a wax as this could cause the skin to breakout.

• You are advised to give yourself a scrub 8 hours before, on the area being treated, this will help reduce ingrown.

I did not complete a scrub on my own but that was fine. I had something else to help me deal with my ingrown; will be revealed later and in another entry. (Post Care)

After that, I was ushered to my locker to have my belongings kept and then into the cozy room to change into a disposable g string.

You might wonder, why a g-string when I’m taking it all off anyway?

I think the g-string is helpful psychologically for first timers as it acts as a barrier against embarrassment of showing your lady parts to a fellow, well, lady. If you are a regular, then covering your bare self with the towel is sufficient.

Hazel came in and we were just chatting a lot about anything and everything. I had my questions answered by her professionally and she shared her own views and experiences with me as well.

Specifically, I had experienced ingrown hair problems with waxing. And they are still visible on my body. She advised that it could be due to poor waxing technique, previous shaving incidents (from shaving to waxing…) and the lack of post care.

For the wax, she used Wax XXX’s La Parfait Core de Riz, a Japanese rice wax. The temperature of the wax is really much lower and more comfortable to the skin than the other wax I had experienced elsewehere. (cough) The whole experience was good, the pain is more imagined than real. Trust me on that.

I was needed to help hold my knee up for some instances, which does help to make u feel more involved. I am saying this because at a previous waxing experience, I felt a little like an animal on the slaughter table having my area waxed while I mostly lie there, trying my best to keep still and not squirm. And also, I had like a blank mind while at it too. Very de-humanizing. LOL. But at Wax XXX, it’s a different waxing experience; a very good one!

I appreciate good service. And for waxing, since it is an intimate service (compared to facials and manicures), good communication and empathy are aspects that I look out for and appreciate. With a small cozy establishment at Beauty Affairs, you can be assured of good quality staff you can trust and come back to (through request when making your appointment).

As with the wax used, it did not irritate my sensitive skin (I’m more prone to breakouts etc there) and did a good job at waxing. However, there are still hairs left. Those are the minute ones probably appearing when the service had been done. I can easily tweeze them off if I can’t stand their presence. LOL. Not too big a deal really. And also, you cant wax the same area more than once… It will be quite damaging to the skin already.

Love the cheeky posters of Wax XXX!

And please, boys too. Have a go!

Here is how I can help you!

There is an ongoing FACEBOOK promotion!

Click here to find out more!

Exclusive for my lovely readers:

Quote “Jamie $5 waxing” to enjoy 1 time underarm waxing at $5!
Call Beauty Affairs at 63379455 or sms to 98762944 for booking.
*Valid till 30th Sept 2012. Appointments must be made prior 30th and no later than that.
Underarm waxing is so much better than shaving! I have no ingrown hair problems now… as I have switched to waxing. Waxing also helps to ‘whiten’ the area as it does a gentle exfoliation of the area while removing the hairs.. 😉
Facebook Giveaway by Wax XXX
‘LIKE’ Wax XXX Facebook pageand help them achieve 2000 likes! They will be giving away $200 vouchers each to 5 Facebook fans! (That’s a total of $1000 vouchers to be won!)

The $200 vouchers can be used on multiple visits for waxing services or/and waxing home-care products on regular prices.(Discounted services or other promotions cannot be used)
Advance booking of appointments are required.
Fans are advised to check Wax XXX Facebook page for details/updates or if they have any questions.
*Should the Facebook page NOT reach 2000 likes, the giveaway will be invalid.
And lastly, do let them know JAMIE sent you to Beauty Affairs!!!! This might just go toward helping me shave my pubes more often 😉 HAHAHAHAHAHA. oops.
Do let me know should you have any questions about the Waxing XXXperience. 🙂 I might be able to help!
Thank you for reading!
Leave a Reply

